Marrying Cousins

Perhaps it may be preferable to marry people who are non-relations, for example if one aspires to form new social ties or bonds, and regards the existence of a marriage relationship with a different family as constructive in widening the circle of social bonds.But,Alhamdulillah!There is no objection whatsoever in the Islamic religion for a man to marry any of his relatives except al-maharim (those forbidden for marriage) whom Allah mentioned in Quran 4:23 & Quran 4:24.

But Hindus views marriages with cousin as incesteous. I don’t know how this is incestous because we are not marrying our siblings.And,the astonishing fact is this that they have no problem when their God Krishna himself is said to have married his paternal aunt’s daughter, but they have problem with Muslims. Can you see the double-standard and hypocrisy??

Well, let me now back it up with the sources from where we learn that Hindu God krishna married his cousin sister.Krishna has married his paternal aunt’s daughter  Mitravinda  who was the daughter of Rajadhidevi who was the sister of Krishna’s father Vasudeva making Mitravinda the first cousin of Krishna. Check the reference below:

Srimad Bhagavatam 10.58.31 “My dear King, Lord Krishna forcibly took away Princess Mitravindā, the daughter of His aunt Rājādhidevī, before the eyes of the rival kings.” Tr. Swami Prabhupada

Krishna is also said to have married another cousin named Bhadra,

Srimad Bhagavatam 10.58.56 “Bhadrā was a princess of the Kaikeya kingdom and the daughter of Lord Kṛishna’s paternal aunt Śrutakīrti. The Lord married Bhadrā when her brothers, headed by Santardana, offered her to Him.” Tr. Swami Prabhupada

Srimad Bhagavatam 10.83.15-16 “Śrī Bhadrā said: My dear Draupadī, of his own free will my father invited his nephew Krishna, to whom I had already dedicated my heart, and offered me to Him as His bride. My father presented me to the Lord with an aksauhini military guard and a retinue of my female companions. My ultimate perfection is this: to always be allowed to touch Lord Krishna’s lotus feet as I wander from life to life, bound by my karma.” Tr. Swami Prabhupada

So that’s it folks. I just turned the table!So next time the Hindus try to bully you just throw this article right on their face!

I can only remind them of this wise saying of Jesus Christ (peace be upon him),

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? ” [Matthew 7:1-3]

Leave a Reply

